Monday, September 25th, 2017

Kindergarten


Kindergarten (age 4-5)

Barbara Steinkemper, Teacher

Barbara Steinkemper

My name is Barbara Steinkemper and I have been working at the German School of San Francisco since 2001. Originally, I am from Germany. I grew up in Bielefeld, which is in the  northern part of the country. I studied to be a kindergarten teacher at the College of Education. Afterwards, I studied social work at the University. After completing my studies, I came to San Francisco where I wanted to live for one year to improve my English. As unpredictable as life can be I fell in love and have been here for the past ten years. I went to New College of California where I completed my Master’s Degree in Psychology. Until the birth of Nina, my second child, I was teaching German at the German American School in Menlo Park where I worked for over three years. Now, I am working as a part-time school counselor in an elementary school. I enjoy working as a German teacher as I have the opportunity to bring children closer to my culture by sharing the language.

Amy Pollitz: Kindergarten TA

Guten Tag! My name is Amy, and I have been working at the German School of San Francisco since 2011, initially as a volunteer and then as a teaching assistant in the Kindergarten and Level 1 classes. I was born in the German town of Pforzheim (at the northern edge of the Black Forest), and came to the United States when I was 3 years old – thankfully, my parents raised me bilingual, and I am so grateful for all the doors that this has opened up for me. During the 2013-14 academic year, I took a break from the German School when I studied abroad at the University of Tübingen. This experience strengthened my love of the German language, as well as German history and culture. After my year abroad, I resumed working at the German School. I especially enjoy working with the younger children and helping them foster a love of the German language through songs, books, games, and arts and crafts. After graduation, I plan to pursue a master’s degree in Intercultural Communication and Education (Interkulturelle Kommunikation und Bildung) at a German university. In my free time, I enjoy hiking, biking, reading, traveling and going to operas and classical concerts.

Simone Bloch, Teacher

Simone Bloch

My name is Simone and I have been working for the German School of San Francisco since 2007. I do have German ancestors on both sides, and my father’s family was from Alsace origin. I was born in the United States, but grew up in France, became a certified teacher of German (CAPES) and taught for 10 years in middle schools and high schools in the suburbs of Paris. In 2001, I moved to the Bay Area to follow my passion for performing arts, became a certified Somatic Movement Educator and discovered my love for young children. Then I decided to focus my educational interest on the little ones.

I am now a mother and stepmother and beside the German School work part time teaching French to children in diverse venues, like Lango for example and Montclair Elementary School in Oakland. I am also a trained and experienced performer and have been dancing and/or acting in numerous shows. I love working with young children and believe that learning a language involves the whole body.

Andrea Burnham, TA

Andrea Burnham
My name is Andrea Burnham. I was born and raised in a small village in the southern part of the Black Forest in Germany. I have been living with my family in the United States for the past 20 years raising two sons who speak German and Swiss German as well. I have a degree in Early Childhood Education and in Early Childhood Intervention and have been working for the City of Pleasanton Gingerbread Preschool for the past 14 years teaching Preschool age children. I have joined the German School of San Francisco in September 2015. From 2001 until 2007 I was at the German School of Fremont teaching all 4 children levels: ages 4 until 14 years. I had the opportunity to teach while my sons attended the Saturday classes as well. Culture is important to me and I like to share it with children. In my free time I enjoy reading, going to jazz concerts, traveling and bike riding and working in my garden.